Athlete-Friendly Education Centres (AFEC)

IB Sports & Study


WINS is the first AFEC school in Italy and a proud member of the international schools’ network accredited by the World Academy of Sport (WAoS

What AFEC means

In accordance with the IB®, AFEC certification allows the school to welcome engaged student-athletes, providing them with flexible IB Middle Years Programme (MYP) and Diploma Programme (DP) timetables that ensure the balance between the demanding sports schedules and academic achievements.

AFEC Numbers







The advantages

Balance between sports & education


Possibility to complete the MYP and attend the intensive sports trainings


Option to complete the DP over 3 years, instead of 2

Athlete Certificate

Student-athletes also have the opportunity to attend a five-module course that aims to provide an understanding and the skills needed for young students to become successful and knowledgeable athletes. The contents have been designed by experts in the field and are overseen by representatives of international federations:

  1. Support Team & Relationships
  2. Values & Integrity in Sports
  3. Health & Wellbeing
  4. Social Media & the Media
  5. Your Journey as an Athlete

Our students-athletes

Marina Rosalli

Rhythmic Gymnastics

At the age of 4 I started Rhythmic Gymnastics training in various sports schools in Turin and in the following years I started my competitive career with the Victoria Turin Gymnastics.

At the age of 7 I moved to Malta and continued with the Rhythmic Gymnastics Gold school with which I took part in various international competitions, winning the podium numerous times and the gold medal on a few occasions.

Significant successes were the 2018 gold medal in Belgium and the silver medal in Hungary in 2023 representing the flag of Malta in competition with numerous other European nations.

From September 2023 I returned to Italy competing again with the Victoria Gymnastics of Turin, gold category.

I chose to attend WINS because I am interested in cultural diversity and in the opportunities this school can offer for my future. From comfortable classrooms to the use of electronic devices: for me, this is a step towards an excellent education. Regarding the program for athletes, I had no doubts that I would be able to balance my academic career with my sporting career, especially after discussing with the teachers the possibility of a tailored program.

Carlotta Banchi


When I was 3, I started skiing down the slopes of Sestriere, at first trained by my father and then by a ski club that initiated me into competition.

In my sport career, I have often qualified for national competitions (Pinocchio sugli sci), passing provincial and regional selections in both slalom and giant slalom.

Since I attended primary school, I have always managed to combine training and competitions with school tasks, despite facing sacrifices and difficulties. I was also able to nurture my passion for Bocconi’s mathematical games, where I ranked first for my school in 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Francesca Banchi


When I was 3, I started skiing down the slopes of Sestriere, at first trained by my father and then by a ski club that initiated me into competition.

In my sport career, I have always qualified for national competitions (Gran Premio Giovanissimi, Pinocchio sugli sci, Alpe Cimbra/Folgaria and Zoncolan), passing provincial and regional selections in both slalom and giant slalom.

During the 2021/2022 season, I was invited to the “Top 50” competitions held in Pila (Aosta Valley), based on the Children Series ranking of the best 50 skiers in Italy by category, where I ranked 10th in the giant slalom.

I began this season with provincial qualifications, where I ranked 4th in giant slalom (Memorial Roberto Marino) and 4th in Sestriere. In addition, I’ve gained a 6th and a 7th place at the Alpe Cimbra regional selection in Bielmonte in giant slalom and special slalom, thus obtaining the qualification for the national race again.

Since I attended primary school, I have always managed to combine training and competitions with school tasks, despite facing sacrifices and difficulties

Niki Eminefendic

Tennis player

I am a tennis player from Italy, I am 11 years old and I have been playing tennis since I was 5.
I am ranked 4.1 in the National Tennis Federation.
When I was 7 years old, I participated in my first national team competition, and I still do it.
Since I was a kid, my team and I have preferred to set solid technical and tactical bases rather than playing in lots of tournaments.
In 2021, I started to take part in both national and international tournaments. I won 3 prizes in the Italian Tennis Federation (FIT) competitions. Besides that, I have also won the regional masters tournament in November 2021.

Now it is time to move on to the next level, to achieve a status in national and international Tennis Europe tournaments.
My final goal is to become a top 10 professional tennis player ranked WTA. However, now I am focused on the steps to get there.
I have a strong motivation to turn the sport I love into my career.

Bring it on!

Felix Baldi


I started skiing when I was three years old – just for fun was the plan. But soon my parents discovered that I had higher ambitions and at the age of five I started to train in a ski club, which meant participating in competitions and training hard.

In my sports career I have always been quite successful, qualifying every year for national competitions. Two examples of my acquisitions are: Two years ago, I arrived 2nd at the National competition Pinocchio in Giant Slalom, while last year I arrived 4th in the Super-G at the National Competition Campionati Italiani Ponte di Legno for my age.

I will start off this season with the TOP 50- Competition in Pila, where the best 50 skiers of Italy of each category are invited to participate.

Managing training and school is not always easy, but so far I was able to succeed in both. Obviously, this means hard work and sacrifices, but also many useful and fulfilling experiences and satisfactions. Thanks to WINS and its athlete friendly program, I can now improve more in both academics and sport and facilitate the mixture of these two very important aspects in my life.

Last but not least, another big passion of mine is the subject of mathematics and last year, despite not having much time for preparation, I arrived 56th national wide in the Kangourou Competition of Mathematics.

Tommaso Rosso


I am 14 years old and an Italian left-handed tennis player.

I have been playing tennis since I was 6 years old, at the end of 2022 my ITF Tennis Europe ranking was no. 306, currently my Italian FIT ranking is 2.8.

Winner of various tournaments at regional level, I participate in national competitions where in 2022 at the Under 13 Italian Championships I ranked among the top 8 in Italy and in 2023 vice-champion in doubles at the Under 14 Italian Championships in Arezzo.

Currently, in September 2023, with my team, CT Cassine, we won the Under 14 National Team Title.

Brayden Zumstein


I started playing basketball at the age of 3 and it has been my passion ever since. I come from a family of basketball players – my mom and dad played as well as my brother and sister. I love playing basketball but also enjoy following the NBA, NCAA and Euroleague.  I have played on select teams in Switzerland and the United States.  My ultimate goal is to play at the University level in the US.  This past year I decided that the best way to continue to challenge myself in my sport was to leave Switzerland and play in another European country with a higher level of competition and more serious training possibilities.  I was given the opportunity to play for Pallacanestro Moncalieri in Turin and I jumped at the chance. This opportunity has helped me to become more independent as well as learning a new language and culture.

This year the team will be participating in tournaments throughout Italy and Europe.

Balancing academics and my sports activities has not always been easy, and I have had to make a lot of sacrifices. However, I recognize the importance of a good education and realize that if I want to reach my basketball goals, good academic results are essential.

I am pleased to be attending WINS and am grateful to be able to combine the rigors and demands of my basketball season with the high academic standards at WINS.  It isn’t easy moving to a new country, learning a new language and attending a new school but I am convinced it will make me more independent and open minded in the future. I am looking forward to the challenges ahead!

Vittoria Saracco

Water skiing

I have always been a sporty child: from a very young age I played football, first in a men’s team and then in the women’s Juventus team.

I started water skiing by chance and then it became a passion: to this day it is the sport I am totally dedicated to.

In the slalom discipline I won 7 Italian championships in my category, I took part in 5 European Championships and won a few medals. In January 3023, I took part in a World Championship in Chile.

I am currently first in the Italian under-17 ranking list and in the European under-21 ranking list.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This